If you have been injured in an auto accident, you have rights that need to be protected. If the accident was caused by someone else's carelessness, the law allows you to recover compensation for your injuries and other losses.
This includes money for:
- Medical bills
- Car repairs
- Lost wages from missed work
- Pain and suffering
- And many other types of damages
What To Do After a Car Accident
If you have not yet been in a car accident, it's likely that you will at some point in your life. It's always better to be prepared and know how to respond in a situation like this, rather than having to guess.
If you are ever involved in a car crash, follow the below steps to ensure you gather all the information and details you will need for your case later:
- Be sure to get the involved party's full name and contact information, as well as their insurance company and policy number
- Take note of the location where the accident took place, as well as the events leading up to it
- Get information regarding the involved party's car (including make, model, and color)
- Gather the other party's driver's license number and plate number
If you were injured in the accident it is imperative that you seek medical attention immediately. You will also need to file a police report, whether you were hurt or not, and follow up with your insurance company about the accident. However, before you speak to your insurance company, it's important to know what you're getting into.
Protecting Your Rights When Dealing With Insurance
Do not speak to the insurance company adjuster or give any statement before you have spoken with an experienced personal injury attorney. Insurance companies will typically ask you to give them a recorded statement. If you haven't had the chance to fully evaluate your damages, any statements you make can hurt your injury case.
Insurance companies often look to "close the deal" before you get legal advice. If the insurance company can't dispose of your case cheap and fast, it will try to obtain as much information from you as it can before you've had a chance to speak to an accident lawyer. Anything you say can be used by the insurance company to damage your case.
At Michael L. Morgan Law Group, we believe that you deserve to know the tricks insurance adjusters will use to minimize or settle your case for less than what you are entitled to. We offer a free initial consultation to give you the information you need to level the playing field and obtain the compensation you deserve.
Statute of Limitations
If you have been injured in a car accident and plan to file a lawsuit, it's important to keep in mind the statute of limitations for the state you will be filing your lawsuit in. A statute of limitations is the law that governs how long after your car accident you may file a personal injury lawsuit.
What Is the Florida Statute of Limitations for Car Accident Lawsuits?
For the state of Florida the statute of limitations for personal injury caused by a car accident is 4 years from the date of your accident. If you attempt to file a lawsuit after those 4 years have expired, your lawsuit will most likely be thrown out.
The details for this statute of limitations can be found in Florida Statutes Annotated section 95.11(3). Waiting too long to file your lawsuit can sometimes cost you your compensation!
Don't wait to get your case moving. Contact our firm today to discuss your situation and find out what your next steps should be.
Florida Car Accident FAQ
- What kind of compensation can I receive for my car accident? If you were injured in your accident, you may be eligible to receive compensation for: medical expenses, lost income from missed work, pain and suffering, and potentially more. Contact Michael L. Morgan Law Group today to discuss your options!
- Is Florida a no-fault state? Yes. So what does this mean for your case? It means that unless your situation meets certain requirements, you will be required to file for compensation for any damages from your own insurance company, not the other drivers'. This rule applies to both drivers, regardless of fault.
- What if I was partially responsible for my accident? Florida adheres to a "comparative fault" rule which reduces the amount of compensation you may be eligible to receive if you are partially at fault for your accident. This is why it's extremely important to retain a professional car accident lawyer to represent you in your lawsuit.
Florida Car Accident Statistics
2018 data gathered by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration found the following data regarding car accidents in Florida:
- There were over 3,100 traffic fatalities in Florida in 2018
- There were over 800 fatalities as a result of alcohol-impaired driving in the same year
- There were over 300 fatalities resulting from speed-related accidents in 2018
- 321 fatalities resulted from crashes involving a large truck
- 1,132 fatalities occurred as a result of crashes occurring in an intersection
Recommended Blog Posts:
Serving Car Accident Victims in Bradenton, Sarasota & Manatee County
Our firm is dedicated to recovering damages for people seriously injured in car accidents. We have the experience and proven results that satisfy our clients and create relationships that last even after a case is over. In fact, many of our new clients are referrals from people we have served in the past.
- Truck accidents
- Motorcycle accidents
- Bicycle and pedestrian accidents
- And distracted driving accidents
Our main office is in downtown Sarasota, at 2364 Fruitville Road, between Lime and Shade avenues. We accept car accident cases on a contingency fee basis, which means there is no fee unless we recover money for you.
If you or someone you love has been hurt in an accident, protect your rights by speaking to an attorney at Michael L. Morgan Law Group today. There is no obligation or charge for speaking to us about your injury case. Learn what your rights are and what type of case you have by calling (941) 218-8220, or complete our contact form.