Free Consultation
Call 941-444-1028 To Speak To An Experienced Personal Injury Lawyer Today.
Michael L. Morgan Law Group Review Us
contact Menu

Trial Experience. Proven Results. Client Satisfaction.

HIT AND RUN LAW IN FLORIDA

According to Florida law, any driver involved in an accident must stop and remain at the scene of the accident. This is known as the "duty to give information and render aid." If a driver violates these legal requirements, they could face the following penalties:

Revocation of Driver's License

Court-ordered community service

Civil or administrative fines

Criminal felony charges

Penalties for Hit and Run Accidents:

The following penalties can be found under Florida Statute 316.027.

Property Damage: If you fail to stop and exchange your information after an accident that results in property damage only, you could face a charge of a second degree misdemeanor that could be punishable by up to 60 days in jail and/or a fine up to $500.

Hit & Run with Injury: If the accident results in an injury and you leave the scene, you could face a charge of a third degree felony that can carry a maximum sentence of 15 years and fines up to $10,000. Your license will be revoked and you may be required to pay restitution to the other driver.

A mandatory minimum sentence of 4 years for a driver who leaves the scene of an accident resulting in a death.

A mandatory minimum sentence of 4 years for a driver convicted of leaving the scene of an accident resulting in a death while driving under the influence.

If the victim is a "vulnerable road user" the offense for leaving the scene of the accident is ranked one level higher than it would be for another motor vehicle. A "vulnerable road user" refers to anyone on the road without protective covering, such as a pedestrian, bicyclist or motorcyclist.

Facts About Florida Hit & Run Accidents:

There were more than 92,000 hit and run accidents in Florida in 2015.

There were over 19,000 in injuries and over 1,200 were serious.

Of the 186 hit and run fatalities in 2015, half were pedestrians.

More than 80% of the hit and run accidents in 2015 resulted in damage to property only.

UM/UIM Motorist Coverage for a Sarasota or Bradenton Hit & Run Accident:

If you have sustained injuries from a Sarasota or Bradenton hit and run accident and you have uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance coverage, you may be able to make a claim for damages under your own UM policy. Your UM policy basically takes the place of the at fault driver's insurance. You may be able to recover compensation for your injuries from your own UM insurance policy.

Sarasota and Bradenton Hit & Run Accident Attorney:

If you have sustained injuries from a Sarasota or Bradenton hit and run accident, please contact the Michael L. Morgan Law Group, P.A. , at 941-444-1028. We work on a contingency fee basis, so there is no cost to you unless we recover on your behalf. Please call us to schedule a free consultation.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For a Response

Michael L. Morgan Law Group Serving Sarasota Since 1998

map image

Michael L. Morgan Law Group
2364 Fruitville Road
Sarasota, FL 34237

Phone: 941-444-1028
Fax: 941-953-4533
Sarasota Law Office Map

Have You Or A Loved One Been Injured? Complete this form for a free consultation to discuss your case and legal rights.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy